Format:
Book
Web Site:
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : Minotaur Books/A Thomas Dunne Book, 2014.
Description:
387 pages ; 22 cm.
Summary:
"An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) combine in this absorbing mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie. Dead one minute... Young Harriet and her brother Austin have always been scared of the quarry where their stone mason father works. So when they find him dead on the cold ground, they rush off quickly to look for some help. Alive the next? When help arrives, however, the quarry is deserted and there is no sign of the body. Were the children mistaken? Is their father not dead? Did he simply get up and run away? A sinister disappearing act It seems like another unusual case requiring the expertise of Kate Shackleton--and Mary Jane, the children's mother, is adamant that only she can help. But Mary Jane is hiding something--a secret from Kate's past that raises the stakes and puts both Kate and her family at risk"-- Provided by publisher.
Series:
Notes:
"First published in Great Britain by Piatkus"--Title page verso.
Genre:
Subjects:
LCCN:
2013039454
ISBN:
9781250037022 (hbk.)
1250037026 (hbk.)
9781250037022
1250037026
Other Number:
862222162
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
2
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

"An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) combine in this absorbing mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie. Dead one minute... Young Harriet and her brother Austin have always been scared of the quarry where their stone mason father works. So when they find him dead on the cold ground, they rush off quickly to look for some help. Alive the next? When help arrives, however, the quarry is deserted and there is no sign of the body. Were the children mistaken? Is their father not dead? Did he simply get up and run away? A sinister disappearing act It seems like another unusual case requiring the expertise of Kate Shackleton--and Mary Jane, the children's mother, is adamant that only she can help. But Mary Jane is hiding something--a secret from Kate's past that raises the stakes and puts both Kate and her family at risk"-- - (Baker & Taylor)

When a brother and sister report the death of their stonemason father and local authorities arrive at the scene to discover that the body has gone missing, Kate Shackleton investigates a growing suspicion that the victim's wife is harboring a dangerous secret. - (Baker & Taylor)

When two young boys report the death of their stonemason father and local authorities arrive at the scene to discover that the body has gone missing, Kate Shackleton investigates a growing suspicion that the victim's wife is harboring a dangerous secret. 20,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) combine inMurder in the Afternoon, an absorbing mystery.

Dead one minute…

Young Harriet and her brother Austin have always been scared of the quarry where their stone mason father works. So when they find him dead on the cold ground, they rush off quickly to look for some help.

Alive the next?

When help arrives, however, the quarry is deserted and there is no sign of the body. Were the children mistaken? Is their father not dead? Did he simply get up and run away?

A sinister disappearing act

It seems like another unusual case requiring the expertise of Kate Shackleton--and Mary Jane, the children's mother, is adamant that only she can help. But Mary Jane is hiding something--a secret from Kate's past that raises the stakes and puts both Kate and her family at risk.

- (McMillan Palgrave)

Author Biography

FRANCES BRODY is the author of Dying in the Wool, A Medal for Murder, and Murder in the Afternoon. She lives in the North of England, where she was born and grew up. Frances started her writing life in radio, with many plays and short stories broadcast by the BBC. She has also written for television and theatre. Her one woman play Jehad was nominated for a Time Out award. Before turning to crime, she wrote historical sagas under her real name, winning the HarperCollins Elizabeth Elgin award for most regionally evocative debut saga of the millennium.

- (McMillan Palgrave)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Library Journal Reviews

One Saturday afternoon, stonemason Ethan Armstrong is murdered. Oddly, his ten-year-old daughter, Harriet, was the only one to see his corpse in his workshop. When the authorities arrive later, the body has disappeared. Harriet's observations are not taken seriously, except by her mother, Mary Jane, who asks PI Kate Shackleton to investigate. Over the period of a week, Kate gradually untwists a number of village secrets, including some of her own. While Ethan's political leanings (he was a leftist union organizer) made him many enemies, it may be that other long-held secrets led to his death. VERDICT This meaty historical set in post-World War I England succeeds as a satisfying traditional mystery and as a fascinating historical novel tackling women's roles in the early 1920s. Brody's series, now at three (after A Medal for Murder), merits serious attention. While leisurely paced, it never lags, instead inviting quiet time on the couch with a cuppa. Partners well with Jacqueline Winspear and Kerry Greenwood.

[Page 59]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation