Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : Grand Central Publishing, 2014.
Description:
439 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
"A new novel by the author of Admission (a motion picture starring Tina Fey and Paul Rudd) ... this time about marriage" --Provided by the publisher.
Genre:
Subjects:
LCCN:
2013015825
ISBN:
9781455599493 (hardcover)
1455599492 (hardcover)
9781455599493
1455599492
9781455599493
1455599492
9781455599493
1455599492
Other Number:
841228231
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
8
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

"A new novel by the author of Admission (a motion picture starring Tina Fey and Paul Rudd) ... this time about marriage" --Provided by the publisher. - (Baker & Taylor)

A successful New York City oncologist with the perfect family she always wanted has her life turned upside after her husband goes missing and a chain of horrible revelations sends her reeling, in this new novel from the author of Admission. 75,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

A successful New York City oncologist with the perfect family she always wanted has her life turned upside down after her husband goes missing and a chain of horrible revelations send her reeling. - (Baker & Taylor)


Grace Reinhart Sachs is living the only life she ever wanted for herself. Devoted to her husband, a pediatric oncologist at a major cancer hospital, their young son Henry, and the patients she sees in her therapy practice, her days are full of familiar things: she lives in the very New York apartment in which she was raised, and sends Henry to the school she herself once attended. Dismayed by the ways in which women delude themselves, Grace is also the author of a bookYou Should Have Known, in which she cautions women to really hear what men are trying to tell them. But weeks before the book is published a chasm opens in her own life: a violent death, a missing husband, and, in the place of a man Grace thought she knew, only an ongoing chain of terrible revelations. Left behind in the wake of a spreading and very public disaster, and horrified by the ways in which she has failed to heed her own advice, Grace must dismantle one life and create another for her child and herself. - (Grand Central Pub)

Author Biography

Jean Hanff Korelitz was born and raised in New York and graduated from Dartmouth College and Clare College, Cambridge. She is the author of one book of poems, THE PROPERTIES OF BREATH, and three previous novels, A JURY OF HER PEERS, THE SABBATHDAY RIVER and THE WHITE ROSE, as well as a novel for children, INTERFERENCE POWDER. She has also published essays in the anthologies MODERN LOVE and BECAUSE I SAID SO, and in the magazines VOGUE, REAL SIMPLE, MORE, NEWSWEEK, ORGANIC STYLE, TRAVEL AND LEISURE (FAMILY) and others. She lives in New York City with her husband (Irish poet Paul Muldoon, poetry editor atThe New Yorker and Princeton poetry professor) and two children. - (Grand Central Pub)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

There is an exquisite but excruciating irony in the fact that Grace's marriage is imploding. The successful Manhattan couples therapist is just about to start the PR blitz for her first book, one that examines the tell-tale, "he's not right for you" signs that, caught early enough, can prevent shaky relationships from becoming emotional earthquakes. Mired in the media whirlwind while working on a fundraiser for her son's tony private school, Grace is only peripherally aware that her husband, charismatic pediatric oncologist Jonathan, is characteristically but frustratingly incommunicado. Then when one of her committee associates is found brutally murdered the same time Jonathan drops off the radar screen, Grace slowly learns that everything she thought she knew about the man she married is blatantly false. Like peeling back the layers of an onion, Korelitz's stinging deconstruction of this marital facade simultaneously reveals the inexorable lies about Grace's supposedly ideal mate. Sensitively delving into the intricacies of self-deception, Korelitz (The White Rose, 2005) delivers a smart and unsettling psychological drama. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Library Journal Reviews

Enthusiasm has been building steadily for this new work from the author of Admission, basis of the Tina Fey film. Happily married counselor Grace Reinhart Sachs is about to promote her relationship book advising women to listen more closely to their mates when she's thrown by the murder of a school mum and the inability to reach her husband, away on business. Has she been failing to listen to Jonathan? Standard setup, but Korelitz aims at both mystery and psychological study. With a 75,000-copy first printing.

[Page 72]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Library Journal Reviews

A successful therapist with her new book, You Should Have Known, due to be published in weeks, Grace is living a life to envy: she's married to an oncologist who loves her, has a son who adores her, and lives in a great apartment in Manhattan. Her son, Henry, attends an exclusive private school, which is in the midst of an annual fundraiser. Grace attends a planning meeting with several moms she already knows plus a new member, Malaga. Imagine the moms' shock when a few days after the meeting, Malaga is found brutally murdered in her apartment. The police question everyone on the planning committee but return to talk to Grace several times. And thus begins the end of what Grace thought was a normal life. VERDICT Korelitz, the author of Admission, has crafted her second novel in the vein of Gone Girl or The Silent Wife; unfortunately, the suspense is marred by the overwritten prose. The book tends to be very New York-centric, so readers unfamiliar with the vagaries of life in Manhattan may find little to enjoy; still, fans of Korelitz's first novel may be curious enough to give this a shot. [See Prepub Alert, 9/30/13.]—Robin Nesbitt, Columbus Metropolitan Lib., OH

[Page 66]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Hoopla (Streaming Video)  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation