Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First Atria Paperback edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : Atria Paperback, 2014.
Description:
490 pages ; 21 cm
Summary:
"From #1 internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley, an epic story of family secrets, love, and betrayal set in Imperial India, a magnificent English country house in the 1920s, and that same house today"-- Provided by publisher.
Genre:
Subjects:
LCCN:
2013023939
ISBN:
9781476703572 (pbk.)
1476703574 (pbk.)
9781476703572
1476703574
Other Number:
852227073
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
2
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

"From #1 internationally bestselling author Lucinda Riley, an epic story of family secrets, love, and betrayal set in Imperial India, a magnificent English country house in the 1920s, and that same house today"-- - (Baker & Taylor)

Brought to England as a princess' companion, Anahita has an affair with an heir, Donald Asbury, who later marries an American heiress, while ninety years later, a young film star meets Anahita's grandson and they discover the dark secrets of the Astbury dynasty. - (Baker & Taylor)

Shooting a film at Asbury Hall, a magnificent English country house, American actress Rebecca Bradley, who is playing a 1920s debutante, bears a striking resemblance to the woman she is portraying and tries to understand her connection to a tragic love affair 60 years in the past. Original. - (Baker & Taylor)

Spanning four generations, The Midnight Rose sweeps from the glittering palaces of the great maharajas of India to the majestic stately homes of England, following the extraordinary life of a remarkable girl, Anahita Chaval, from 1911 to the present day . . .

In the heyday of the British Raj, eleven-year-old Anahita, from a noble but impov­erished family, forms a lifelong friendship with the headstrong Princess Indira, the privileged daughter of Indian royalty. As the princess’s official companion, Anahita accompanies her friend to England just before the outbreak of WorldWar I. There, she meets young Donald Astbury—reluctant heir to the magnifi­cent, remote Astbury Estate—and his scheming mother.

Ninety years later, Rebecca Bradley, a young American film star, has the world at her feet. But when her turbulent relationship with her equally famous boyfriend takes an unexpected turn, she’s relieved that her latest role, playing a 1920s debutante, will take her away from the glare of publicity to a distant cor­ner of the English countryside. Shortly after filming begins at the now-crumbling Astbury Hall, Ari Malik, Anahita’s great-grandson, arrives unexpectedly, on a quest for his family’s past. What he and Rebecca discover begins to unravel the dark secrets that haunt the Astbury dynasty . . .

A multilayered, heartbreaking tale filled with unforgettable characters caught in the sweep of history,The Midnight Rose is Lucinda Riley at her most captivating and unforgettable. - (Simon and Schuster)

First Chapter or Excerpt
The Midnight Rose

PROLOGUE

Darjeeling, India, February 2000


Images

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

For Anahita Chavan, childhood in India under the British raj was simple and happy. But when she is asked to become the companion to the maharajah's daughter, Princess Indira, Anni is suddenly exposed to a life of wealth and privilege. Then the two girls are sent to England to attend boarding school, a move that will change Anni's life in ways she never dreamed of. Meanwhile, in present-day England, American actress Rebecca Bradley has snagged the first serious role of her career, playing a 1920s debutante living on a beautiful Dartmoor estate. As filming begins, the manor receives an unexpected visitor, Ari Malik, Anahita's great-grandson, who is on a quest to learn about Anni's past. Riley, the best-selling author of The Orchid House (2011), has once again written an extraordinary story, a complex, deeply engaging tale filled with fascinating characters whose slowly revealed secrets carry readers to the very end. Spanning four generations and moving from the great palaces of India to the stately country home of an English lord, this is a sweeping tale of love lost and found. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Library Journal Reviews

At the celebration of her 100th birthday in 2000, Anahita reflects on her full and happy life. Anni's only regret? Not knowing the true story of her missing son, Moh, reported dead at the age of two. Entrusted with the task of finding Moh, her ambitious great-grandson Ari quickly forgets his promise in pursuit of professional success until he's compelled by a personal loss of his own. What he finds is more than he, or Anni, could have ever imagined, including the solution to a mystery surrounding the current Lord Astbury and up-and-coming young American actress Rebecca Bradley. Using India and England as settings for past and present time frames, Riley's (The Lavender Garden; The Girl on the Cliff) multigenerational novel contrasts historical and contemporary attitudes toward issues of social class, racial prejudice, and financial status while creating cleverly connected, likable characters. A bit of a ghost story, a little romance, some historical fiction, and plenty of family drama mix into one wonderful story. VERDICT Easy to read but hard to categorize, this novel is a sure bet for fans of Lauren Willig, Kate Morton, or Maeve Binchy.—Stacey Hayman, Rocky River P.L., OH

[Page 99]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Library Journal Reviews

Riley's multigenerational saga opens in 2000, with 100-year-old Anahita reminiscing about the events of her storied life—her friendship with an Indian princess, her wartime journey to England as the princess's companion, and her thwarted romance with an English noble. Paralleling Anahita's story is the tale of Rebecca Bradley, an American actress who meets Anahita's great-grandson while filming in England. The two discover a tragic secret, hidden for generations, that could change their lives. (LJ 2/15/14)

[Page 46]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation