Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Publisher, Date:
Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Landmark, 2014.
Description:
282 pages ; 21 cm
Summary:
"Such audacity she has, Soraya, a woman who dares to break free of the diamond-studded leash of her culture. A woman who refuses to accept the devastating betrayal her husband has perpetrated. A woman who refuses to forgive her best friend. Soraya turns her back on Iran, fleeing to America to plot her intricate revenge. The Shah has fallen, her country is in turmoil, her marriage has crumbled, and she is unraveling. The cruel and intimate blow her husband has dealt her awakens an obsessive streak that explodes in the heated world of Los Angeles. Yet the secret Soraya discovers proves far more devastating than anything she had imagined, unleashing a whirlwind of unexpected events that will leave the reader breathless" -- from publisher's web site.
Notes:
"A novel of betrayal" -- p. [1] of cover.
Genre:
Subjects:
LCCN:
2013031050
ISBN:
9781402284434 (pbk. : alk. paper)
1402284438 (pbk. : alk. paper)
Other Number:
828055619
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
1
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

After the fall of the Shah, Soraya flees to America to plot her revenge after she discovers that her husband has been cheating on her with her best friend. - (Baker & Taylor)

An Iranian woman flees to America to take revenge on the two people she trusted the most

Soraya flies to America from Iran to plot revenge against her husband and her best friend who have betrayed her in the cruelest possible way. Against the backdrop of momentous historical events in Iran, we follow Soraya to Bel Air where she creates a haven for her butterfly obsession. When Soraya lures her friend to town, she arrives with Soraya's husband in tow. The unexpected secret they reveal to Soraya is far more devastating than anything she had imagined, threatening to further unhinge her.

- (Sourcebooks Inc.)

Betrayal, forgiveness, identity and obsession churn against the tumultuous landscape of the Islamic revolution and the seemingly perfect gardens of Southern California in this compelling novel from bestselling author Dora Levy Mossanen.

Amidst a shattering betrayal and a country in turmoil, Soraya flees Iran to make a new life for herself in Los Angeles. The cruel and intimate blow her husband has dealt her awakens an obsessive streak that explodes in the heated world of Southern California, as Soraya plots her revenge against the other woman, her best friend. What she discovers proves far more devastating than anything she had ever imagined, unleashing a whirlwind of events that leave the reader breathless.

"A lush, superbly narrated and highly provocative excursion into the passions and politics of love in our own tumultuous times."-Jonathan Kirsch, The Jewish Journal

- (Sourcebooks Inc.)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

After Soraya finds out that her husband had been cheating on her with one of her closest friends, she leaves her home, family, and friends in Iran to make a new life for herself in Los Angeles. Constantly confronted with the contrasts between traditional Muslim culture and the ways of urban America, Soraya struggles to find a comfortable identity among so many conflicting ideals. It isn't until she uncovers a terrifying, amazing secret that she realizes how clear her future has suddenly become. In her latest, Mossanen (The Last Romanov, 2012) examines what happens when one woman's predictable routine, treasured relationships, and sense of self have all been shattered. Soraya's enduring love of the natural world lets Mossanen sprinkle the scientific names of many plants and insects throughout the text, which mix appealingly with the often dreamy and lyrical narration. Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and Kristin Hannah will appreciate Soraya's story as Scent of Butterflies sets betrayal, forgiveness, identity, and obsession against the tumultuous landscapes of post-shah Iran and Southern California. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Hoopla (Streaming Video)  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation