Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
1st ed.
Publisher, Date:
New York : William Morrow, c2014.
Description:
328 p. ; 24 cm.
Summary:
While driving along a suburban back road, Hilary Blum, who's just lost her job and whose deadbeat husband has left her alone to care for her son with Asperger's, witnesses a freakish accident. A car ahead of her careens down a hill and slams into a tree. Stopping to help, she discovers the driver dead--and a satchel stuffed with a half a million dollars. That money could prevent her family's ruin and keep her special needs son in school. In an instant, this honest, achieving woman who has always done the responsible thing makes a decision that puts her in the center of maelstrom of dark consequences and life-threatening recriminations--a terrifying scheme involving a twenty-year-old murder, an old woman whose life has been washed out to sea, and a powerful figure bent to keep the secret that can destroy him hidden. With everything to lose, everything she loves, Hilary connects to a determined cop from Staten Island, reeling from the disaster of Sandy, to bring down an enemy who will stop at nothing to keep what that money was meant to silence, still buried.
Genre:
Subjects:
ISBN:
0061656003
9780061656002
Other Number:
857966838
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
8
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

In the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, Hilary Cantor, a determined but down-on-her-luck single mother caring for a special needs son, becomes entangled in a murderous conspiracy to keep a twenty-year-old secret buried. - (Baker & Taylor)

When she stumbles upon a satchel stuffed with $100 bills, which could prevent her family's ruin and provide for her son's special needs, Hilary Blum, who just lost her job, makes a split second decision that unleashes dark consequences and puts her life in great danger. 150,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

While driving along a suburban back road, Hilary Cantor, who's just lost her job and whose deadbeat husband has left her alone to care for her son with Asperger's, witnesses a freakish accident. A car ahead of her careens down a hill and slams into a tree. Stopping to help, she discovers the driver dead-- and a satchel stuffed with a half a million dollars. That money could prevent her family's ruin and keep her special needs son in school. In an instant, this honest, achieving woman who has always done the responsible thing makes a decision that puts her in the center of maelstrom of dark consequences and life-threatening recriminations-- a terrifying scheme involving a twenty-year-old murder, an old woman whose life has been washed out to sea, and a powerful figure bent to keep the secret that can destroy him hidden. With everything to lose, everything she loves, Hilary connects to a determined cop from Staten Island, reeling from the disaster of Sandy, to bring down an enemy who will stop at nothing to keep what that money was meant to silence, still buried. - (Baker & Taylor)

A determined, (down on her luck,) mother caring for her handicapped son becomes entangled in a murderous conspiracy to keep a twenty year old secret buried in this blistering thriller, set during the tragic aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, from Andrew Gross, the New York Times bestselling author of 15 Seconds and No Way Back.

While driving along a suburban back road, Hilary Blum, who's just lost her job and whose deadbeat husband has left her alone to care for her son with Asperger's, witnesses a freakish accident. A car ahead of her careens down a hill and slams into a tree. Stopping to help, she discovers the driver dead—and a satchel stuffed with a half a million dollars.

That money could prevent her family's ruin and keep her special needs son in school. In an instant, this honest, achieving woman who has always done the responsible thing makes a decision that puts her in the center of maelstrom of dark consequences and life-threatening recriminations—a terrifying scheme involving a twenty-year-old murder, an old woman who's life has been washed out to sea, and a powerful figure bent to keep the secret that can destroy him hidden.

With everything to lose, everything she loves, Hilary connects to a determined cop from Staten Island, reeling from the disaster of Sandy, to bring down an enemy who will stop at nothing to keep what that money was meant to silence, still buried.

- (HARPERCOLL)

Flap Cover Text

A determined mother becomes entangled in a murderous conspiracy to keep a twenty-year-old secret buried in this blistering thriller, set during the tragic aftermath of Hurricane Sandy, from Andrew Gross, theNew York Times bestselling author of 15 Seconds and No Way Back

While driving along a suburban back road, Hilary Cantor, who's just lost her job and whose deadbeat husband has left her to care for her son who has Asperger's, witnesses a freakish accident when a deer suddenly darts in front of the car ahead of her. The driver careens down a hill and slams into a tree. Rushing to help, she discovers the car smoking, the driver dead—and a satchel on the floor stuffed with a half million dollars.

That money could prevent her family's ruin and keep her son in school. In an instant, this honest, achieving woman who has always done the responsible thing makes a decision that puts her in the center of a maelstrom of unforeseeable consequences and life-threatening recriminations. It isn't long before someone comes looking for the money, and as they get closer and closer to Hilary, she is pulled into a terrifying scheme involving a twenty-year-old murder, an old woman whose entire life has been washed out to sea by the storm, and a powerful figure determined to maintain the secret that can destroy him.

With everything to lose and putting everything she loves at risk, Hilary joins up with a dogged police official from Staten Island who has his own connections to the money and is dealing with his family's tragic struggles in the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. Together they must fight to bring down an enemy who will stop at nothing to keep buried what that money was meant to silence.

Everything to Lose is a propulsive thriller filled with tension and unexpected twists. Pitting an ordinary woman against powerful and desperate figures, this explosive and heartbreaking tale of suspense will appeal to readers of Harlan Coben, Lee Child, and David Baldacci.

- (HARPERCOLL)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* The old myth of gold hidden in a cave, guarded by a troll and stumbled upon by a hero who may or may not be pure of heart, has powerful resonance among storytellers. Think of The Treasure of the Sierra Madre or, more recently, Scott Smith's A Simple Plan (1993) or Aaron Elkins' Loot (1999), or this fine thriller. Heroine Hilary Blum finds a stack of cash, but it isn't in a crashed airplane or under a tarp. It's on the seat next to a man killed when his car went over a cliff. No one's purer than Hilary, or more deserving. Her ex-hubby has weaseled out of paying support for their disabled son, and she's lost her job. She takes the money. The trolls appear. Things quickly—and nastily—spin out of control as Gross skillfully keeps his plot moving forward through scenes of emotional richness, then jittery suspense. The characters are pushed by choices they make, not just the demands of the plot. So the horrific ending, when the wrong people die, hurts as much as it heals. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Hoopla (Streaming Video)  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation