Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Publisher, Date:
New York : Atlantic Monthly Press, 2014.
Description:
410 pages ; 24 cm
Series:
Genre:
Subjects:
ISBN:
9780802122506
0802122507
Other Number:
858894836
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
4
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

"When a vagrant--the Walking Man--finds a dog wandering alone with a scrap of paper with the words "HELP US" attached to its collar, he's sure it's a desperate plea from someone in trouble and calls on Detective Inspector Jack Caffery to investigate. Caffery is reluctant to get involved--until the Walking Man promises new information regarding the childhood abduction of Caffery's brother in exchange for the detective's help tracking down the dog's owners. Caffery has no idea who or what he is searching for, but one thing he is sure of: it's a race against time. Meanwhile a wealthy local family is fighting for their lives, held hostage in their remote home. As their ordeal becomes increasingly bizarre and humiliating, the family begins to wonder: Is this really a random crime?" -- - (Baker & Taylor)

After a vagrant finds a dog wandering alone carrying a scrap of paper with the words "HELP US" attached it is collar, Caffery races against time to find the dog's owners, while a wealthy local family, held hostage in their remote home, fight for their lives. 20,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

After a vagrant finds a dog wandering alone carrying a scrap of paper with the words "HELP US" attached to its collar, Caffery races against time to find the dog's owners, while a wealthy local family, held hostage in their remote home, fight for their lives. - (Baker & Taylor)


Edgar Award winner and internationally best-selling author Mo Hayder has made her name with nightmarishly dark, impeccably-plotted thrillers that hook readers from the first page and won’t let them go. With her latest novel,Wolf, the frighteningly talented Hayder ratchets up the terror yet another notch, with a bone-chilling novel about a family held hostage in their country home.

Wolf kicks off when a vagrantthe Walking Man, an enigmatic, recurring character in Hayder’s fictionfinds a dog wandering alone with a scrap of paper with the words HELP US” attached to its collar. He’s sure it’s a desperate plea from someone in trouble and calls on Detective Inspector Jack Caffery to investigate. Caffery is reluctant to get involveduntil the Walking Man promises in exchange new information regarding the childhood disappearance of Caffery’s brother. Caffery has no idea who or what he is searching for, but one thing he is sure of: it’s a race against time.

Meanwhile, the Anchor-Ferrers, a wealthy local family, are fighting for their lives, held hostage in their remote home ten miles away. As their ordeal becomes increasingly bizarre and humiliating, the family begins to wonder: is this really a random crime?
- (Perseus Publishing)

Author Biography

Mo Hayder has worked as a filmmaker, Tokyo nightclub hostess, and English as a second language teacher. She has won the Edgar Award for Best Novel forGone and the Crime Writers’ Association Dagger in the Library award for outstanding body of work. She is also the author ofBirdman, The Treatment, The Devil of Nanking, Pig Island,Ritual, Skin, Hanging Hill, and Poppet. She lives in England.
- (Perseus Publishing)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Library Journal Reviews

Edgar Award winner Hayder has achieved international best-sellerdom with premises that make your nerves positively ache. Here, a vagrant named the Walking Man rescues a dog wandering about with the desperate note "HELP US" attached to its collar. Det. Insp. Jack Caffery isn't interested in tracking down the dog's owners until the Walking Man indicates that he knows something significant about the childhood abduction of Jack's brother.

[Page 63]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Library Journal Reviews

In Hayder's best Jack Caffery thriller yet, a worn-out Jack is feeling all the years he has put into police service and his never-ending quest to find out what happened to his long-lost brother. The novel opens with a young girl finding a stray dog with a ripped note tucked into its collar that states, "Help us." A vagrant known as the Walking Man witnesses this and promises the young girl that he will help the dog. Never one to give out information willingly, the Walking Man surprisingly contacts Jack—offering up a trade: find out who needs help and, in return, the Walking Man will give Jack some closure about his brother. This deal with the devil sets off a home invasion novel unlike no other. The Anchor-Ferrers, a wealthy family with secrets and issues of their own, are being held hostage in their estate. Will Jack find them in time? And why was this family chosen in the first place? VERDICT Dark and twisty, this gripping crime novel by an Edgar Award winner is an outstanding read, whether Jack is a new character to the reader or an old friend. For fans of John Connolly or Robert Crais. [Library marketing.]—Marianne Fitzgerald, Severna Park H.S., MD

[Page 97]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Hoopla (Streaming Video)  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation