Format:
Book
Web Site:
Cover image
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2014.
Description:
307 pages ; 24 cm
Summary:
"Abby learns via Facebook that her fiance has dumped her. In an effort to salvage her mental framework and her waistline after six months of wallowing in self-pity and pints of Ben & Jerry's ice cream, Abby and her best friend Grace leave Boston for a summer in Newport, RI. They both hope to rediscover themselves and enjoy a peaceful environment free from their stresses and the control their men have over their hearts and minds. This vacation proves to be a huge learning experience for Abby as she tries to date in a social media-saturated world that is not as private and untraceable as she once thought."-- Library Journal.
Notes:
Subtitle from jacket.
Genre:
Subjects:
LCCN:
2014008794
ISBN:
9780062205742 (hbk.)
0062205749 (hbk.)
Other Number:
871689613
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
2
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

"A fresh, funny, and heart-warming novel about the perils, pitfalls, and dubious pleasures of being a young single woman in the Facebook Age, from the author of Bond Girl"-- - (Baker & Taylor)

"A funny, bittersweet, yet heartwarming novel about friendship, family, and finding love in the Facebook age--not to mention the perils, pitfalls, and dubious pleasures of life as a modern young single woman--from Erin Duffy, the author of the acclaimed Bond GirlEver since she was a little girl, Abby Wilkes dreamed of her wedding, the day when she'd wear a pretty white dress and look like a princess.But that was before her life fell apart for the entire world to see. Her longtime boyfriend-turned-fiance;, Ben, unceremoniously dumped her--changing his status to single on Facebook--while she was trying on the most gorgeous Vera Wang dress for the big day. Six months and twenty pounds later, the usual remedies--cupcakes, a freezer stocked with pints of Ben and Jerry's, sweatpants, and a comfy couch--haven't worked their magic. Worried about her best friend, Grace devises the perfect plan to get Abby back on her game. The two of them are going to escape sweltering Boston and its reminders of Ben and head to Newport for the summer. In a quaint rented cottage by the sea, the girls will enjoy cool breezes, cocktails, and crowds of gorgeous men. But no matter which way they turn, Abby and Grace discover that in this era of social media--when seemingly everyone is preserving every last detail of their lives online and prying eyes are everywhere--there is no real escape. Truth to tell, dating has never been easy. But now that the rules have changed and the boundaries are blurred beyond recognition, will they ever find true love? And if they do, how can romance stand a chance when a girl's every word and move can go viral with a single click? As the summer winds down to Labor Day, Abby will make some surprising discoveries--about love, men, friendship. and, most important, herself. "-- - (Baker & Taylor)

After her fiancâe publicly dumps her on Facebook, Abby and her best friend Grace head to Newport for the summer where they enjoy the beach, cocktails, and cute men, but discover that in this era of social media there is no real escape. - (Baker & Taylor)

After her fiancé publicly dumps her on Facebook, Abby and her best friend Grace escape to Newport for the summer where they enjoy the beach, cocktails and cute men, but discover that in this era of social media there is no real escape. 50,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

A heartwarming novel about friendship, family, and finding love in the Facebook Age—not to mention the perils, pitfalls, and dubious pleasures of being a modern young single woman—from Erin Duffy, the author ofBond Girl.

Six months ago, Abby's life fell apart for the entire world to see. Her longtime boyfriend-turned-fiancé, Ben, unceremoniously dumped her—on Facebook—while she was trying on dresses for the big day.

When the usual remedies—multiple pints of Ben & Jerry's, sweatpants, and a comfy couch—fail to work their magic, her best friend, Grace, devises a plan to get Abby back on her game. She and Abby are going to escape Boston and its reminders of Ben and head to Newport for the summer. There, in a quaint rented cottage by the sea, the girls will enjoy cool breezes, cocktails, and crowds of gorgeous men.

But no matter where they go, Abby and Grace discover that in this era of social media—when seemingly everyone is preserving every last detail of their lives online—there is no real escape. Dating has never been easy. But now that the rules are more blurred than ever, how will they find true love? And even if they do, can romance stand a chance when a girl's every word and move can go viral with a single click?

- (HARPERCOLL)

Flap Cover Text

A funny, bittersweet, yet heartwarming novel about friendship, family, and finding love in the Facebook age—not to mention the perils, pitfalls, and dubious pleasures of life as a modern young single woman—from Erin Duffy, the author of the acclaimedBond Girl

Ever since she was a little girl, Abby Wilkes dreamed of her wedding, the day when she'd wear a pretty white dress and look like a princess. . . .

But that was before her life fell apart for the entire world to see. Her longtime boyfriend-turned-fiancé, Ben, unceremoniously dumped her—changing his status to single on Facebook—while she was trying on the most gorgeous Vera Wang dress for the big day.

Six months and twenty pounds later, the usual remedies—cupcakes, a freezer stocked with pints of Ben and Jerry's, sweatpants, and a comfy couch—haven't worked their magic. Worried about her best friend, Grace devises the perfect plan to get Abby back on her game. The two of them are going to escape sweltering Boston and its reminders of Ben and head to Newport for the summer. In a quaint rented cottage by the sea, the girls will enjoy cool breezes, cocktails, and crowds of gorgeous men.

But no matter which way they turn, Abby and Grace discover that in this era of social media—when seemingly everyone is preserving every last detail of their lives online and prying eyes are everywhere—there is no real escape. Truth to tell, dating has never been easy. But now that the rules have changed and the boundaries are blurred beyond recognition, will they ever find true love? And if they do, how can romance stand a chance when a girl's every word and move can go viral with a single click?

As the summer winds down to Labor Day, Abby will make some surprising discoveries—about love, men, friendship . . . and, most important, herself.

- (HARPERCOLL)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

Standing in front of a three-way mirror in the most gorgeous dress she's ever seen, Abby Wilkes finally feels like a bride-to-be. Then her fiancé sets his Facebook relationship status back to "single." After storming out the of the bridal boutique and confronting her now ex-fiancé, she heads back to her apartment and falls into the comforting arms of reality television and Ben & Jerry's ice cream. After quite a bit of wallowing, Abby accepts her best friend's offer to share a summer rental house because she knows a change of scenery could be helpful. The next few months bring plenty of sun, cheap drinks, and a complete overhaul in Abby's dating philosophy. This story of "love in the time of Facebook" follows Abby's journey from bereft dumpee to content single woman. Duffy's second novel is tenderly introspective, lacking the sharply pointed wit of her debut, Bond Girl (2012). Abby's attempts to navigate the ever-changing rules of dating are infinitely relatable and will prove to be an ideal beach read for fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Sarah Pekkanen. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Library Journal Reviews

With her second novel (after Bond Girl), Duffy succeeds again in bringing a fresh perspective to women's fiction for the thirtysomething set that is funny, relatable, and unpredictable. As she tries on wedding dresses for her big day, Abby learns via Facebook that her fiancé has dumped her. In an effort to salvage her mental framework and her waistline after six months of wallowing in self-pity and pints of Ben & Jerry's ice cream, Abby and her best friend Grace leave Boston for a summer in Newport, RI. They both hope to rediscover themselves and enjoy a peaceful environment free from their stresses and the control their men have over their hearts and minds. This vacation proves to be a huge learning experience for Abby as she tries to date in a social media-saturated world that is not as private and untraceable as she once thought. VERDICT With its more realistic and modern ending, this engaging novel offers readers relaxing and light yet thoughtful summer escape. [Library marketing.]—Anne M. Miskewitch, Chicago P.L.

[Page 94]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation