Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Publisher, Date:
New York : Atlantic Monthly Press, 2013
Description:
407 pages ; 24 cm.
Notes:
A Jasmine Sharp and Catherine McLeod novel
Genre:
Subjects:
Other Title:
LCCN:
bl2014015518
ISBN:
9780802122476
0802122477
9780802122476
0802122477
Other Number:
876901192
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
3
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod investigates a dangerous case of a murdered Glaswegian gangster while private investigator Jasmine Sharpe tracks down the man who killed her father in the third novel of the mystery series following When the Devil Drives. - (Baker & Taylor)

Bred in the Bone is the stunning third novel in Brookmyre’s series featuring private investigator Jasmine Sharp and Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod. Set in the disturbing underworld of Glasgow—a place where countless old scores are still waiting to be settled, and where everyone knows everyone else—Bred in the Bone is a masterful mystery novel that will appeal to readers of Denise Mina, Val McDermid, and Ian Rankin.

Private investigator Jasmine Sharp's father was murdered before she was born, and her mother went to self-sacrificing lengths in order to shield her from the world in which he moved. Since her mother's death, all she has been able to learn is his first name—and that only through a strange bond she has forged with the man who killed him: Glen Fallan. But when Fallan is arrested for the murder of a criminal her mother knew since childhood, Jasmine is finally forced to enter his domain: a place where violence is a way of life and vengeance spans generations.

Detective Superintendent Catherine McLeod has one major Glaswegian gangster in the mortuary and another in the cells for killing him - which ought to be cause for celebration. Catherine is not smiling, however. From the moment she discovered a symbol daubed on the victim's head, she has understood that this case is far more dangerous than it appears on the surface, something that could threaten her family and end her career.

As one battles her demons and the other chases her ghosts, these two very different detectives will ultimately confront the secrets that have entangled both of their fates since before Jasmine was even born.
- (Perseus Publishing)

Author Biography

Christopher Brookmyre has established himself as one of Britain's leading crime novelists since his award-winning debut novel Quite Ugly One Morning. He has worked as a journalist for several British newspapers and is the author of twelve novels, including Where the Bodies Are Buried, One Fine Day in The Middle of the Night, and Not The End of The World.
- (Perseus Publishing)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Brookmyre's third Jasmine Sharp/Catherine McLeod outing (following When the Devil Drives, 2013) begins with the cold-blooded assassination of Glasgow criminal legend Stevie Fullerton, quickly followed by Detective Superintendent McLeod's speedy arrest of Glen Fallan, another of Glasgow's top criminals. Closing the books on two major criminals at the same time would normally please her, but McLeod knows that Fallan is far too smart to have made it so easy. She also knows that Fallan has real feelings for Jasmine, so McLeod arranges to bait the young PI into investigating the murder. Each woman learns her life has been touched by the gangsters, and each is imperiled by her connection. Jasmine finds herself uncovering betrayals and blood feuds that date back 25 years, as well as insights into her mother's youth in a poor, violent Glasgow neighborhood. McLeod finds herself in a swamp of corrupt coppers and the influence of the city's most politically prominent family. Brookmyre's plot turns so often, and involves so many characters, that the novel requires—and rewards—close reading. A baker's dozen characters are well sketched, and Fallan is wonderfully complex: a stone-cold killer who is also strangely principled. Brookmyre is building a case for gritty, violent Glasgow as the world capital of crime, and this is his best book yet. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Library Journal Reviews

When top Scottish gangster Stevie Fullerton is ambushed in a Glasgow car wash, Glen Fallan, a known hit man, is quickly arrested. DS Catherine McLeod should be quite satisfied. Years before, Fullerton had set up mob boss Tony McGill for a long prison term, and this seems typical Glasgow payback. PI Jasmine Sharp is drawn into the case to help investigate Fallon and, as in Brookmyre's two previous books in this series (Where the Bodies Are Buried; When the Devil Drives), the past is vital to present solutions. Jasmine is searching for her unknown father, supposedly killed by Fallon. Catherine, too, has a violent past, carefully hidden. The two women hate each other, but their stories intertwine as the violence continues. Catherine believes her boss may be involved in cover-ups even as her career is threatened by political pressure. VERDICT Brookmyre's 17th novel is full of memorable characters in a complex plot set in a vividly drawn setting. Both police and civilians seem resigned to the inevitability of an eye for an eye. Solving the current murder involves peeling away layers to reveal earlier crimes in a riveting tale of revenge and, possibly, redemption. For fans of gritty British crime novels in the tradition of Ian Rankin and Val McDermid. [See Prepub Alert, 11/10/13.]—Roland Person, formerly with Southern Illinois Univ. Lib., Carbondale

[Page 73]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book
2013

Add to My List  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation