Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : Little, Brown, & Company, 2014.
Description:
392 pages ; 25 cm
Summary:
"When 13-year-old Jace Wilson witnesses a brutal murder, he's plunged into a new life, issued a false identity and hidden in a wilderness skills program for troubled teens. The plan is to get Jace off the grid while police find the two killers. The result is the start of a nightmare. The killers, known as the Blackwell Brothers, are slaughtering anyone who gets in their way in a methodical quest to reach him. Now all that remains between them and the boy are Ethan and Allison Serbin, who run the wilderness survival program; Hannah Faber, who occupies a lonely fire lookout tower; and endless miles of desolate Montana mountains. The clock is ticking, the mountains are burning, and those who wish Jace Wilson dead are no longer far behind" -- from publisher's web site.
Genre:
Subjects:
ISBN:
9780316122559
0316122556
Other Number:
860755393
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
10
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

After witnessing a murder, a young teen is hidden in a wilderness skills program for troubled kids while the killers embark on a methodical quest to reach him in this new novel by the best-selling author of The Prophet. 40,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

After witnessing a murder, a young teen is hidden in a wilderness skills program for troubled kids while the killers embark on a methodical quest to reach him. - (Baker & Taylor)

"When 13-year-old Jace Wilson witnesses a brutal murder, he's plunged into a new life, issued a false identity and hidden in a wilderness skills program for troubled teens. The plan is to get Jace off the grid while police find the two killers. The result is the start of a nightmare. The killers, known as the Blackwell Brothers, are slaughtering anyone who gets in their way in a methodical quest to reach him. Now all that remains between them and the boy are Ethan and Allison Serbin, who run the wilderness survival program; Hannah Faber, who occupies a lonely fire lookout tower; and endless miles of desolate Montana mountains. The clock is ticking, the mountains are burning, and those who wish Jace Wilson dead are no longer far behind" -- - (Baker & Taylor)

The newest thriller from Michael Koryta, New York Times bestselling author

When fourteen-year-old Jace Wilson witnesses a brutal murder, he's plunged into a new life, issued a false identity and hidden in a wilderness skills program for troubled teens. The plan is to get Jace off the grid while police find the two killers. The result is the start of a nightmare.

The killers, known as the Blackwell Brothers, are slaughtering anyone who gets in their way in a methodical quest to reach him. Now all that remains between them and the boy are Ethan and Allison Serbin, who run the wilderness survival program; Hannah Faber, who occupies a lonely fire lookout tower; and endless miles of desolate Montana mountains.

The clock is ticking, the mountains are burning, and those who wish Jace Wilson dead are no longer far behind. - (Grand Central Pub)

Author Biography

Michael Koryta is the New York Timesbestselling author of ten novels, most recently THOSE WHO WISH ME DEAD. His previous novels - including THE PROPHET, THE RIDGE, SO COLD THE RIVER, and ENVY THE NIGHT-- were New York Times notable books, national bestsellers, and were nominated for numerous awards, including having won the Los Angeles Times Book Prize. A former private investigator and newspaper reporter, Koryta holds a degree in criminal justice. He lives in St. Petersburg, Florida, and Bloomington, Indiana. - (Grand Central Pub)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

*Starred Review* Koryta, a widely praised veteran of cross-genre tales, has upped his game with this stand-alone's seamless blend of western-wilderness thriller and mainstream crime fiction, with a prickly dab of horror. Ethan Serbin, an elite survival-skills instructor during his Air Force career, now runs a similar program for troubled teens in the Montana wilderness. Without warning, a former student reappears, pleading with Ethan to take on a special student. Jace Wilson witnessed the terrifyingly calculating Blackwell brothers committing murder, and he's in hiding until he can testify. In Ethan's camp, the former student reasons, Jace will be off the grid and protected by one of the few men certain to help him survive. Ethan agrees, and once the teens arrive that summer with Jace hidden among them, it's not long before the brothers come for him, flaunting their mystifying ability to manipulate the authorities attempting to keep Jace's location secret. Unmatched in weapons and brutality, Jace; Ethan; his wife, Allison; and a young fire watcher named Hannah Faber battle to survive a raging wildfire and the murderous intent of a creepy pair of killers rivaling the deadly preacher in The Night of the Hunter. A must-read for fans of C. J. Box and Nevada Barr. HIGH-DEMAND BACKSTORY: Combine Koryta's existing fan base, the current vogue for wilderness thrillers, and an aggressive marketing campaign, and you get a novel certain to attract a whole lot of eager readers. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Library Journal Reviews

After 13-year-old Jace Wilson witnesses a murder, the police sneak him into a wilderness skills program for troubled teens to protect him as they seek out the killers. But are the Montana mountains and the woman in the fire lookout tower enough to protect him? From the New York Times best-selling author.

[Page 70]. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Library Journal Reviews

Kortya (The Prophet) opens his latest thriller with a very likeable 13-year-old Jace Wilson witnessing a brutal murder committed by assassins—and brothers—Jack and Patrick Blackwell. Instead of being placed in the regular witness protection program, the boy is hidden in a Montana wilderness survival camp for troubled teens, run by Ethan and Alison Serbin. Jace and Ethan are soon putting their outdoor skills to the test as they are hunted down by the Blackwell brothers. Allison and a former firefighter named Hannah round out the cast of characters in this fast-paced, terrifically entertaining novel. VERDICT The Blackwell brothers' devious methods, the fire raging across the mountains, and the actions of those trying to save Jace will keep readers up well into the night. With a national author tour and movie rights already sold, this, Kortya's tenth novel, could be the one that brings the talented writer into the mainstream. [See Prepub Alert, 1/6/14.]—Jason L. Steagall, Gateway Technical Coll. Lib., Elkhorn, WI

[Page 83]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation