Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2014.
Description:
352 pages ; 24 cm.
Summary:
A murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads a young defense lawyer and NYPD homicide detective Ellie Hatcher into parallel investigations with explosive and deadly results.
Series:
Genre:
Subjects:
LCCN:
bl2014015569
ISBN:
9780062208385
0062208381
Other Number:
872269356
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
8
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

A murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads a young defense lawyer and NYPD homicide detective Ellie Hatcher into parallel investigations with explosive and deadly results. - (Baker & Taylor)

Taking the wrongful conviction claim of Anthony Amaro, who believes he has evidence exonerating him in the murder of her sister, Carrie Blank works alongside NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher to reopen the investigation that led to Amaro's arrest, which results in violence as they get closer to the truth. - (Baker & Taylor)

Taking the wrongful conviction claim of Anthony Amaro, who believes he has evidence exonerating him in the murder of her sister, Carrie Blank works alongside NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher to reopen the investigation that led to Amaro's arrest, which results in violence as they get closer to the truth. 35,000 first printing. - (Baker & Taylor)

A new murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads Detective Ellie Hatcher into a twisting investigation with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from the “terrific web spinner” (Entertainment Weekly) Alafair Burke.

When psychotherapist Helen Brunswick is murdered in her Park Slope office, the entire city suspects her estranged husband—until the District Attorney’s office receives an anonymous letter. The letter’s author knows a chilling detail that police have kept secret: the victim’s bones were broken after she was killed. Her injuries were eerily similar to the signature used twenty years earlier by Anthony Amaro, a serial killer serving a life sentence for his crimes. Now, Amaro is asking to be released from prison, arguing that he was wrongly convicted, and that the true killer is still on the loose.

NYPD Detectives Ellie Hatcher and JJ Rogan are tapped as the “fresh look” team to reassess the original investigation that led to Amaro’s conviction. The case pits them against both their fellow officers and a hard-charging celebrity defense lawyer with a young associate named Carrie Blank, whose older sister was one of Amaro’s victims.

As the NYPD and Amaro’s lawyers search for certainty among conflicting evidence, their investigations take them back to Carrie’s hometown, where secrets buried long ago lead to a brutal attack—one that makes it terrifyingly clear that someone has gotten too close to the truth.

- (HARPERCOLL)

Flap Cover Text

A murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads a young defense lawyer and an NYPD homicide detective into parallel investigations with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from "one of the finest young crime writers working today" (Dennis Lehane).

The latest story dominating New York tabloids—the murder of Park Slope psychotherapist Helen Brunswick—couldn't be further from Carrie Blank's world handling federal appeals at one of Manhattan's most elite law firms. But then a hard-charging celebrity trial lawyer calls Carrie with a case she can't refuse. Anthony Amaro, a serial killer convicted twenty years earlier, has received an anonymous letter containing a chilling detail about Brunswick's murder: the victim's bones were broken after she was killed, the same signature used in the murders attributed to Amaro. Now Amaro is asking to be released from prison.

Carrie has a reason to be interested. Her older sister, Donna, was one of Amaro's victims. Determined to force the government to catch Donna's real killer, Carrie joins Amaro's wrongful conviction team with her own agenda.

On the other side of Amaro's case is NYPD Detective Ellie Hatcher, who, along with her partner, J. J. Rogan, is tapped as the "fresh look" team to reassess the investigation that led to Amaro's conviction. The case is personal for them, too: Ellie wonders whether they got the assignment because of her relationship with the lead prosecutor, and Rogan has his own reasons to distrust Amaro's defense team.

As the NYPD and Amaro's lawyers search for certainty among conflicting evidence, their investigations take them back to Carrie's hometown, where secrets buried long ago lead to a brutal attack—one that makes it terrifyingly clear that someone has gotten too close to the truth.

- (HARPERCOLL)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

The case that convicted serial killer Anthony Amaro was seemingly airtight, complete with eyewitness identification and a confession. But when a recent high-profile murder shows striking similarities to Amaro's killings, his media-courting celebrity defense attorney moves for reexamination of the evidence. In response, the NYC district attorney convenes a "fresh look" team begrudgingly led by Ellie Hatcher and her partner, JJ Rogan. They've barely scratched the case's surface when they discover that there's a hint of fabrication in Amaro's confession, and new DNA evidence on one of the victims, Donna Blank, may point to another killer. Amaro's defense also has a secret weapon in Carrie Blank, a promising young attorney who just happens to be Donna Blank's half-sister. She's not convinced Amaro is her sister's killer, and she's determined to find out the truth about her sister's death. This isn't just another oops-maybe-he's-not-the-real-killer novel; Burke deftly merges Ellie's, Carrie's, and Amaro's stories into a multifaceted portrait of unconditional love with thriller pacing and plenty of solid investigative detail. Perfect for Laura Lippman fans. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Library Journal Reviews

The shocking murder of psychotherapist Helen Brunswick complicates an old case, as NYPD detective Ellie Hatcher and attorney Carrie Blank both search for the truth from opposite sides of the law. When similarities between Helen's murder and those of past serial killer victims come to light and an anonymous letter with inside information about Helen's case that might exonerate the convicted killer arrives, the police are forced to reevaluate the previous cases. While Ellie is assigned to the "fresh look" team, Carrie goes to work for a celebrity lawyer specializing in wrongful convictions and representing Anthony Amaro, the man imprisoned for the murders. She is enticed by the idea of discovering the truth, because her half sister was one of the original victims. As the cops and lawyers navigate new evidence and old confessions, they uncover dark secrets kept hidden for decades. This is the fifth book in the Ellie Hatcher series (after Never Tell), and familiarity with previous entries is helpful but not necessary. VERDICT A satisfying police procedural with added interest from alternating perspectives of detective and attorney. For fans of Lisa Gardner and Tess Gerritsen, and readers who enjoy tough female police officer protagonists and complex plots. [See Prepub Alert, 1/6/14.]—Emily Byers, Tillamook Cty. Lib., OR

[Page 64]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Hoopla (Streaming Video)  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation