Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Language Note:
Translated from the Swedish.
Publisher, Date:
London : Hesperus Nova, 2014.
Description:
474 p. ; 20 cm.
Notes:
Translated from the Swedish.
Genre:
Subjects:
Other Author:
ISBN:
9781843915157 (pbk.)
1843915154 (pbk.)
9781843914914
Other Number:
876372369
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
3
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

While training to follow in her father's footsteps by joining the police force, Olivia Rèonning receives a challenge from her professor to pick a cold case and solve it, unknowingly putting herself in danger. - (Baker & Taylor)

A gripping, cinematic crime thriller from the scriptwriters known as the king and queen of Scandinavian crime, expertly crafted and full of twists and turns

The spring tides are the highest of the year in Nordkoster; the beach will be covered in particularly deep water tonight. Three men on the beach are digging a hole, covertly watched by a young boy. His intrigue turns to horror as he makes out the fourth figure of the woman for whom the hole is intended. Buried up to her neck in the sand, the high tide is rapidly approaching. Still screaming in terror, the victim takes her last breath as water fills her nose and mouth—in her stomach, she feels her baby kick. And her waters break. The abhorrent crime remains unsolved 24 years later; but gruesome violence is still prevalent. A gang has been killing homeless people in parks, filming their attacks, and broadcasting them on the internet. The police have their work cut out trying to keep abreast of the crime wave. Olivia Rönning hopes to follow in her father's footsteps and join their ranks in the next few months as she completes her training; she has only one last hurdle to overcome over the summer break, a challenge from her professor to pick a cold case and solve it. Should be simple, she thinks. Little does she know the world she is getting involved in, the danger she faces, and the ugly truths she risks uncovering.

- (Independent Publishing Group)

Author Biography

Cilla Börjlind and Rolf Börjlind are crime and thriller scriptwriters whose work includes 26 Martin Beck films from the Sjöwall and Wahlöö books, and the Swedish adaptation ofWallander. - (Independent Publishing Group)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Library Journal Reviews

In 1987, on a Swedish beach, a young boy witnesses three men burying a pregnant woman alive. Twenty-four years later, the murder remains unsolved. In 2011, Olivia Rönning—who is 24 herself—selects this cold case for a class assignment at the Swedish police academy in Stockholm in honor of her deceased father, who had investigated the crime. At the same time, a gang films the brutal murders of several homeless people in parks and then streams the video recordings online. Rönning and a team of seasoned investigators discover a link between the 1987 and 2011 events. VERDICT Two Swedish scriptwriters (TV series Wallander and Beck) deliver an intense, action-packed first novel. They smoothly transition among the many well-developed characters and set a chilling mood with an excellent evocation of the Swedish landscape. In addition, the authors effortlessly blend two mysteries to create a plot with many twists and turns that will be sure to appeal to fans of Henning Mankell, Maj Sjöwall and Per Wahlöö, and Camilla Läckberg. While the English translation is excellent, the British slang might be off-putting to some U.S. readers. [Previewed in Kristi Chadwick's feature, "Pushing Boundaries,"LJ 4/15/14.—Ed.]—Russell Michalak, Goldey-Beacom Coll. Lib., Wilmington, DE

[Page 63]. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation