Format:
Book
Author:
Title:
Edition:
First Harper Paperbacks edition.
Publisher, Date:
New York : Harper, 2014.
©2013
Description:
456 pages ; 21 cm.
Summary:
The greatest thinker in human history, Plato, travels to Italy seeking initiation into the Orphic mysteries: the secret to the Underworld known only to the gods. But the knowledge he discovers is terrifying. Two millennia later, twelve ancient golden tablets secreted in museums around the world hold sacred information known to only a few -- the pathway the dead must follow to the afterlife. And archaeologist Lily Barnes has just found another on a dig in southern Italy. But this tablet is far more valuable -- and dangerous -- than the rest. It holds the key to hell itself. Now, Lily is gone and her husband, Jonah, is desperate to find her. He knows she is alive -- and in mortal danger -- and he's willing to go to hell itself to find her. But the deeper he descends on this dark and twisting journey, the more Jonah's fear rises, for not everyone who travels where Lily has gone will find their way back.
Notes:
"First published in Great Britain in 2013 by Hodder & Stoughton"--Title page verso.
Genre:
Subjects:
ISBN:
006230528X
9780062305282
Other Number:
857966710
# Local items in:
1
System Availability:
1
Current Holds:
0
Call # & Availability
Map It
Librarian's View
Annotations

Discovering a new golden tablet that is the key to Hell, archaeologist Lily Barnes disappears, and her husband Jonah will stop at nothing, including venturing into the Underworld itself, in order to find her. - (Baker & Taylor)

The greatest thinker in human history, Plato, travels to Italy seeking initiation into the Orphic mysteries: the secret to the Underworld known only to the gods. But the knowledge he discovers is terrifying. Two millennia later, twelve ancient golden tablets secreted in museums around the world hold sacred information known to only a few -- the pathway the dead must follow to the afterlife. And archaeologist Lily Barnes has just found another on a dig in southern Italy. But this tablet is far more valuable -- and dangerous -- than the rest. It holds the key to hell itself. Now, Lily is gone and her husband, Jonah, is desperate to find her. He knows she is alive -- and in mortal danger -- and he's willing to go to hell itself to find her. But the deeper he descends on this dark and twisting journey, the more Jonah's fear rises, for not everyone who travels where Lily has gone will find their way back. - (Baker & Taylor)

A cerebral literary thriller in the vein of Dan Brown, Matthew Pearl, and Sam Bourne,The Orpheus Descent follows classical philosopher Plato on a mysterious journey to Italy that will ignite a conspiracy that burns into the present.

The greatest thinker in human history, Plato, travels to Italy seeking initiation into the Orphic mysteries: the secret to the Underworld known only to the gods. But the knowledge he discovers is terrifying.

Two millennia later, twelve ancient golden tablets secreted in museums around the world hold sacred information known to only a few—the pathway the dead must follow to the afterlife. And archaeologist Lily Barnes has just found another on a dig in southern Italy. But this tablet is far more valuable—and dangerous—than the rest. It holds the key to hell itself.

Now, Lily is gone and her husband, Jonah, is desperate to find her. He knows she is alive—and in mortal danger—and he’s willing to go to hell itself to find her. But the deeper he descends on this dark and twisting journey, the more Jonah’s fear rises, for not everyone who travels where Lily has gone will find their way back. . . .

- (HARPERCOLL)

Flap Cover Text

The greatest thinker in human history, Plato, travels to Italy seeking initiation into the Orphic mysteries: the secret to the Underworld known only to the gods. But the knowledge he discovers is terrifying.

More than two millennia later, twelve ancient golden tablets secreted in museums around the world hold sacred information known to only a few—the pathway the dead must follow to the afterlife. And archaeologist Lily Barnes has just found another on a dig in southern Italy. But this tablet is far more valuable—and dangerous—than the rest. It holds the key to hell itself.

Now, Lily has vanished, and her husband, Jonah, is desperate to find her. He knows she is alive—and in mortal danger—and he's willing to go to hell to rescue her. But the deeper he descends on this dark and twisting odyssey, the more Jonah's fear rises, for not everyone who travels where Lily has gone will find the way back.

- (HARPERCOLL)

Large Cover Image
Trade Reviews

Booklist Reviews

Archaeologist Lily Barnes might not fully appreciate how important a newly discovered golden tablet—more of a wafer-thin gold foil, with ancient writing on it—is to some people. Soon after she begins her examination of the millennia-old artifact, she disappears. Her husband, Jonah, a guitarist in a rock band, receives text messages that are ostensibly from Lily, but they don't make much sense. Soon Jonah comes to realize his wife is in grave danger; but can he find her before she's lost forever? This exciting, fast-paced thriller boasts some well-drawn characters, an involving plot, and some seriously interesting speculation about the nature of hell. Interspersed with Jonah's story is a first-person narrative recounting the ancient Greek philosopher Plato's own quest for the truth about hell; as the book nears its conclusion, the two stories, Jonah's and Plato's, seem to come together, with the long-ago past and the present appearing to be the same. It's an ambitious book—not many novelists would send a rock star on a journey to hell—and fans of the author's previous, history-based thrillers (The Lost Temple, 2008) will have a great time. Copyright 2014 Booklist Reviews.

Book
2014

Add to My List  
Zinio (eMagazines)  
Ask Us 24/7  
Hardcover Fiction  
Hardcover Non-Fiction  
Trade Paperback Fiction  
Trade Paperback Non-Fiction  
New Titles  Copy this link to your RSS news reader.
Make a Donation